Sometimes You Have To Change To Be Around The People You Like

I know you’re thinking to yourself “What? Change? I don’t need to change for anybody!” or simply wondering what is it that I am talking about?

I was sitting here at my desk thinking about how I really desire to be able to run again. The thought about my desire to run my first 5K this year made me reach out to someone who I knew for a fact has been on my same journey. Someone that has literally gone from dream to catch. Meaning that he went from 5K to Iron Man! Wow! Now that is no small feat. I have known this guy since elementary school. We have watched each other’s journeys over the years. But for me to see how this man has literally conquered and CRUSHED everything in his path has always amazed and inspired me. But, inspiration can only go so far. It takes action.

So, what do I mean that you have to change?

I will run my first 5K this year. I need to make changes to be like the people who are you can follow the path,but make the adventure your ownalready doing it. That means that I can’t just say ok, the run is tomorrow I got this, BUT I haven’t even been off of the couch in 5 years. It doesn’t work that way. I have to get around those who are doing it. I need to follow the lead of those who have had my journey. Currently, I have gained weight and have not worked out much (even though I have a gym membership near my home. Shame…I know), and cake is my BIGGEST guilty pleasure. Especially strawberry short-cake, but as much as I love it, it is not going to get me to where I desire to be. I have to change to be like those that I desire to be like. No one’s journey is identical, but there are templates that you can follow. Success leaves clues! Same thing goes for lifestyle and business.

I had to come to the realization that I couldn’t be a motivational speaker or mentor hanging with people who were the exact opposite of the message that I desired to deliver. I can’t expect to live a happy and success filled life if I only surround myself with people who complain, talk about other people and make excuses instead of solutions. There is no room for growth there. It is so true that you can become a product of your environment so it is best to monitor what and who’s in it.

Another thing you will learn as you change to be like the people who are doing what you desire to do and living the life that you desire to have, is that you will more than likely learn something. You put yourself in a position to learn what you did not know. That is worth the change alone. Sometimes we think that we have it all figured out when in reality, we don’t know what we do not know. I know exactly where France is, now speaking French….that’s a different story….for now. Je promets 😉

How do you get around these people?

I would have to say you have to step out and get them. Sometimes you may will them into your life just like many other experiences. BUT, at the same time you have to be open and intentional on action! There has been so many times that I have given big time lip service. Meaning that I would talk about what I wanted to do be and have, then did nothing towards it outside of running words together eloquently. Doesn’t really help right? Well, I had to change my mindset and know that it was ok for me to step out and make things happen. I had to become comfortable with being uncomfortable. Everything you have EVER desired lives right on the outskirts of your comfort zone. Cross the line and go for it!

 

In Faith,

NichelleNicole

 

Leave a Reply

